The Manager (1909)

The Manager
1909 ch. h, Voter (GB)-Bracegirdle by Fonso

Daily Racing Form, 05/05/1912

Owner/Trainer: Thomas Clay McDowell

Record: at least 13 wins (out of unknown total starts) / $19,273
At 2 (1911): 1st Breeders’ Futurity (4f) and Harold Stakes
At 3 (1912): 1st Canadian Derby, Washington Handicap (9f), and Baltimore Handicap (1 1/16 mi – established NTR); 3rd American Grand National Handicap (9f)

Established NTR at Laurel (10/06/1912): 1 1/16 miles in 1:44 3/5, carrying 114 lbs.

(Retrospective) 1912 U.S. Champion 3YO Male and Horse of the Year

Past performances (incomplete)

Of his performance in the Baltimore Handicap, “Maj. Thomas C. McDowell’s 3-year-old Voter colt, The Manager, earned his title to king of the 3-year-old division at Laurel yesterday afternoon, when in gallant manner he won the Baltimore handicap, at a mile and a sixteenth, defeating Lahore, Froglegs, and Worth. Until yesterday Froglegs had held the palm as the premier 3-year-old of the American turf.” – The Washington Post 10/06/1912

Of his performance in the Washington Handicap, “The Manager is the king of 3-year olds… It was a remarkable performance for a 3-year-old, and stamps The Manager as one of the best horses of his age the American turf has seen.” – The Washington Post 10/21/1912.

From the family of champions Exterminator and Regret and out of the highly respected stakes winner Bracegirdle, the dam of stakes winners America, The Rival, and Woodlake. Female family A1.

Progeny and Descendants
The Manager’s progeny includes the mares Olive Wood (1915), winner of the 1917 Spinaway (defeating Rosie O’Grady); St. Augustine (1915), who set a NTR for 1mi at Latonia at 2YO; and Distinction (1917), who set a NAR for 4.5f at Latonia at 2YO.

The Manager appears in the damline of U.S. champions One Count (1952 Champion 3YO Colt/Horse of the Year) and Indian Blessing (2007 Champion 2YO Filly/2008 Champion Female Sprinter); of Japanese Champion Zenno Rob Roy (2004 Champion Older Male/Horse of the Year); of stakes/graded stakes winners Adile, Daddy Nose Best, Darling My Darling, La Corredora, Plucky Roman, Roamin Rachel, Rocket Twentyone, Singing Rain, Witchful Thinking, et al; and of Ace Card (1952 Broodmare of the Year).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s